Audiobook Publishers Chart Growth Among and Beyond Ebook Readers

Audiobook Publishers Chart Growth Among and Beyond Ebook Readers

I’ve listened to “books on tape,” and “audio-CD’s” for YEARS! Now I have a subscription to Audible.com. Audio versions are a must for authors who truly want to market their books.

Disjointed Jottings by Robert Smith (A.K.A. TyCobbsTeeth)

I was at a family function a few months ago when my uncle pulled me into the next room and handed me a pair of earbuds. “Listen to some of this.”

Over the sonorous British narrator whose voice filled my ears with talk of fresh peas and someone named ‘Legrandin,’ I could hear my uncle shout, “Proust!”

Audiobooks are growing quickly, with publishers and distributors seeing their uptake among ebook readers as well as fans of other audio media like podcasts.

According to Michele Cobb, President of the Audio Publishers Association, who spoke on a panel at Digital Book World 2015 in New York City today, the past few years have seen an exponential uptick both in audiobook sales and in the volume of titles released into the market.

In 2011, Cobb said, about 7,000 audiobooks were published. In 2012 that number climbed to 12,000. And in 2013 it nearly tripled, to 35,000, accompanied by a…

View original post 345 more words

Leave a Reply

