Half a Decade Later, And I’m Still Not Done

Half a Decade Later, And I’m Still Not Done

No, I’m still not finished with my book. As we come to the end of 2014, I’m taking a look back at my half-decade’s worth of unproductive behavior.

  • I started this blog in December 2009 expressly to make myself accountable to the world, toward finishing my first novel. I even named the blog “Deliberate Writer” to inspire and prompt myself even more toward being consistent in my daily practice of writing.
  • I read a lot of books. Stephen King says writers read. 🙂  But writers write, too. [hanging my head]
  • I started a Writers Group, on the suggestion of author Laura Benedict. She was wonderful to respond back to me directly after I questioned the ending of one of her books. To start the group, I used the Meet Up platform and I now have over 120 “Passionate Writers.” Thankfully, only about 12 to 15 writers actively participate every time we meet. I’m blessed and proud to say that an amazing group of intelligent, thoughtful, supportive and talented writers has assembled to form our writers’ group. I’ve helped critique and inspire many of them to work on their craft. Five of them have published three or more books during this time. I have published nothing, despite the embrace of all their support and free critiquing.
Writing truly brings me GREAT joy.
Writing truly brings me GREAT joy.
  • I bought writing software called Write or Die. I love this software! During the few times I’ve used it, I produced good copy. The problem is, I don’t use the software because it forces me to write.

So, what does this mean as I come full circle?–after five years of scant or stalled unproductive writing toward completing my first novel?

Let me answer that for you. I know what to do. I just don’t do it. Which amazes no one more that it amazes me. I’m happiest when I’m writing. So why don’t I write all the time? Well, I’ve already addressed all those excuses in past blog entries.

As 2015 bellows toward me, I fully admit that I’m tired of being the butt of my own jokes about my long-suffering novel. It means that I’m going to write as much as I can in the next few days and weeks to finish it. I truly want to complete it so I can move on with the writing career I’ve always wanted for myself. I guess I didn’t really want it before. But I do now.

Here’s to a productive 2015! [raising my fictional glass] Write on!

Leave a Reply

