Dreaming of the Debut

Dreaming of the Debut

There’s a girl 20 years my junior who is featured on the front page of the Washington Post’s Style section today.  New author sensation, drum roll, please:  Ms. Danielle Evans.  She’s been writing since she was a babe. Oh, and did you know she spoke eloquent and precocious phrases before her peers could recite the words, “See Jane pet Spot?”  She’s a Columbia University graduate who also excelled at the Iowa Writers Workshop, had two of her stories chosen for publication in the Best America’s Short Stories collection, and teaches creative writing classes at American University.  She’s done sooooo much, despite being sooooo young!

I’m trying to be mature and Christian about this and not be envious of her.  I’m truly feeling more admiration than envy–.  Seriously.   I’m proud of the young woman and all she’s accomplished!  As you’ll recall, I said in an earlier blog entry that I would not compare myself to other writers.  I’m running my own race at my own pace–, yaada yaada yaada.  Right?!!

Besides, while Ms. Evans was but a little girl, writing stuff, honing her talent, and getting better with each crisp and sparkling paragraph–, I was out serving my country for 20 years.  I was working, supporting my family, taking trips, hanging out with the girls, going on dinner dates, tending to my animals, and doing all sorts of other-than-writing activities.  Whew.  Now, why do I have the sudden urge to drink anything with lots of Tequila in it?

But this is what I’m going to do for inspiration:  I’m going to tape that big Style Section article to the wall in my office.  I’m going to cover little Danielle’s face with my own photo.  And then I’m going to paste my own caption over the printed one.  It will read something like:  “Local author, Pamela Hart’s debut novel receives international acclaim for her strong character development and realistic, raw and punchy dialogue.”  I learned this from The Secret.

I’m going to buy her book this weekend, to support her.  I also want to see for myself the words that people perceive as being innovative and chocked full of talent.

Next, I’m going to finish my own first book, in my own voice–, and then finish my second one.

And when the whoopla dies down, I’m going to go visit that young girl and take her to lunch.  A celebratory lunch.  I might even offer myself up as a mentor to Ms. Evans, and vice versa, as we make plans to collaborate on a project.

Yep, you heard it here first.  [chuckle]

Write on!

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of the Debut

  1. Hi Pam! As per my stated support of your endeavors, I’m curious what challenges you’ve faced in writing your first chapter of the book. When was it completed? Would you go about writing differently for the next chapter?

    As with anything (and I know you know this, as you wouldn’t be where you are if you didn’t), you have to create goals, set a start and stop date, and refer back to them frequently to stay on track. I hope that I can be in the background, supporting you as you accomplish each goal on the way to success. It’s being around people like yourself that keep me going with my projects.

    Have a great week and hope to see you around soon!

    –Jason

    1. Hi Jason, I have to admit I haven’t made any physical changes whatsoever. Granted, it’s been busy at work, but that’s no excuse. November is National Novel Writer’s Month. I participated last year but didn’t keep up and pooped out. I’m doing it again this year. 🙂 In order to finish in 1 month, I have to write just three pages a day. Too easy, right? 🙂 Hope to see you soon! Pam

Leave a Reply

